Parabol

POSTED: Fri Aug 09, 2019 3:38 pm

Do not cry out or hit the alarm
You know we're friends till we die

The Del Cenerian procession met many a man on their travels south. Few stood out in the blur, for none could make the lofty promises Boone so foolishly desired. He chased fortune with the tenacity of a rabid dog.

However, one did spur Boone’s interest.

He’d been a likable young man with a powerful family name. This Manuelle, he and Boone spoke like kin when the drinks began to flow. Joking, laughing over games of chance, even as the tides of conversation turned to riches and wonders – and his family, the Del Mars. Manuelle spoke with a youthful, joyous spark by the light of the tavern’s roaring hearth. Boone’s attention was rapt.

Their family, he explained, moved goods by trade. All above board, nothing particularly duplicitous it seemed. It seemed an opportunity Boone was willing to explore. Perhaps it was the other’s coyote blood that made Boone open minded.

Manuelle extended a kindly invitation to his family’s new northern outpost. “Just, hear what my grandpa has to say,” he explained in earnest. “he’ll explain it better than I can

Boone conferred briefly with Briarblack and Uncle Ron before accepting the young Del Mar’s offer with a firm handshake. “Sure,” Boone agreed. “We’ll ride with you in the morning.” First, however, there was a game of lots to finish.

The caravan rode four strong through the iron gate at Manuelle’s behest. A guard armed with a spear waved the party through.

Palisade, they called it. A sprawling vista in grave contrast to the harsh northern woods in which it was hidden. An estate of the old world, meticulously restored and scrubbed free of any sign of rot. Out front were gardens and arranged in rows were cabins built for the groundskeepers and workmen. Boone had seen no such luxury before.